Home-made Luxury Lip Balm for 2015!

sFWevqdu

At the beginning I said this blog wasn’t going to be just about food since health and wellness go beyond and above food. I hope to diversify a bit more in the new year, looking into other areas of natural healthcare (exciting!) which is why I’m kick starting it all today with my natural lip balm recipe!

You know I like to bore you with the details of how it all began so here goes. This year I wanted to add a personal touch to my Christmas gifts, not that a Louis Vuitton hand bag doesn’t have a personal touch (I will be accepting, if you are giving..lol) but I’m sure you get my drift. I debated with a few options and finally settled with the lip balm.

When it comes to using natural alternatives to everyday beauty products my question isn’t usually, why? but more along the lines of why not? Though I wouldn’t go as far as to say I use ONLY natural beauty products, I do try as much as is feasible and sensible to stick to natural products. My line of thought like I said is more, why not? (the adventurous side of me). If coconut oil or Shea butter (my personal favourites!) are as good at moisturising my face as any of the leading brands, why not use it?

I guess the pertinent issue stems from the word IF, finding out if they do work requires experimentation which is where many of us give up. But then that’s what people like me are here for: guinea pigs (lol) As women (I can speak for them because I am one, but I’m sure men feel the same way) I know we can be particular about what we use on our skins especially those of us with sensitive skins, and it is understandable to want to stick with what is or has been a winning formula. On a side note this is one reason I settled for the lip balm option, it felt like a safe bet as I wasn’t sure my friends were quite yet ready to try my all natural sweet scrub {coming soon to a shop near you! :)}.

No doubt trying natural alternatives can have its pitfalls, I have experienced one or two (like my natural deodorant saga ,lol, story for another day) but if you are like me, you learn from them, repackage and upgrade, simples *winks*. Not to worry though, I won’t be advocating anything weird or dangerous on here.

My aim in this natural beauty series will be to explain (as far as I understand) the reasoning behind some of these natural products and techniques and let you know what has worked for me personally. At the end of the day the decision to try will be yours to make and if you decide to just read about all this ‘interesting’ natural stuff then by all means I’ll be here for your reading and viewing pleasure :). But if on the other hand you decide to try some or all of the techniques be warned that I will not be held responsible for all the admirers and comments you get about how gorgeous your skin looks!

The fun part for me with natural alternatives is that I get to create my own mix and blend based on what I like and what suits me and sometimes simply based on what I have available. Once you understand the basics, it can be a lot of fun especially when it works! Hopefully I will get a you on board this wagon in 2015, till then do have a lovely New Years Eve!

Funmi’s Luxury Lip Balm Recipe

Lips can become dry, chapped and sometimes begin to bleed when exposed to the sun, wind, cold and dry air. The first rule to keeping lips supple is to make sure we drink sufficient water which keeps the skin including lips hydrated. The purpose of a lip balm is primarily to seal in this moisture and keep it from escaping if you like. More moisture is lost from the lips than any other part of the body or face, it is therefore important to use a good lip balm.

A good diet and lots of water is the key to keeping skin and lips well hydrated.

Finally to my Lip Balm Recipe:

You will need

    • 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil
    • 2 tablespoons Shea butter
    • 1 1/2 tablespoons Castor Oil
    • 3 tablespoons of Olive Oil
    • 4 tablespoons beeswax pastilles
    • Few drops of Peppermint Oil

Method

1) Combine all the ingredients into a heat-proof glass jar.

2) Place the jar into a saucepan with a few inches of water and bring to a boil. This created a double boiler effect.

3) Once all the everything is melted add the peppermint oil.

4)  Pour the liquid into a lip balm container of your choice and there you have it!

IMG_2373

Funmi’s Natural Luxury Lip Balm

6 thoughts on “Home-made Luxury Lip Balm for 2015!

Leave a Reply

